Connect with us


One Visa for Gulf Countries Like a Schengen Visa



One Visa for Gulf Countries Like a Schengen Visa

One Visa for Gulf Countries Like a Schengen Visa. In a landmark decision to boost tourism and streamline travel logistics, the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) recently approved a unified tourist visa. This visa will allow travelers to visit all six member states – Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates – with just one visa, much like the European Schengen visa. Announced at the 40th meeting of the Interior Ministers, this development is set to revolutionize travel within the Gulf region.

One Visa for Gulf Countries Like a Schengen Visa

GCC members have announced that they will introduce a unified tourist visa by the end of 2024. As a result of this visa, travelers will be able to freely visit Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Qatar, the UAE, Oman, and Bahrain in the Gulf region.

What is the Unified Gulf Tourist Visa?

The unified tourist visa for the Gulf countries is designed to simplify travel across the region. Similar to the Schengen visa in Europe, which permits travel across 27 European countries, this single visa will allow tourists to explore all GCC member states.

The Schengen Visa: A Model for the Gulf

The Schengen visa currently enables tourists to visit countries like Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, and many others on a single visa. This visa has significantly eased travel in Europe by removing the need for multiple visas. The GCC’s unified visa aims to replicate this success, enhancing the appeal of the Gulf as a tourist destination.

Key Benefits of the Unified Gulf Tourist Visa

  1. Simplified Travel Logistics: With a single visa, tourists can seamlessly travel across Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the UAE without the hassle of obtaining separate visas for each country.
  2. Boost to Tourism: The unified visa is expected to attract more tourists to the region, boosting the local economies of all member states.
  3. Enhanced Regional Integration: This initiative will promote greater cohesion and integration among the GCC countries, fostering a sense of unity and cooperation.

Implementation Timeline

The unified Gulf tourist visa is anticipated to be launched in the 2024-25 timeframe. Once implemented, it will significantly ease travel logistics for those looking to explore multiple Gulf countries in one trip.

Current Visa Requirements for Gulf Countries

At present, travelers must obtain separate visas for each Gulf country they wish to visit. For instance, Indian passport holders need an electronic visa (e-visa) to travel to Bahrain, Kuwait, and the United Arab Emirates. Oman and Qatar, however, are visa-free for Indian passport holders. The new unified visa will eliminate these individual visa requirements, streamlining the process for travelers.


The introduction of a unified tourist visa for the Gulf countries marks a significant step forward in regional cooperation and tourism development. By simplifying the visa process, the GCC aims to attract more tourists, boost local economies, and foster greater unity among its member states. Travelers can look forward to easier, more convenient travel across the Gulf region, making it an even more attractive destination for global tourists.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *